Tags Tectonic

Tag: Tectonic

Tectonic Summary of “Masset” Canada Earthquake 2012

M7.7 - 139km S of Masset, Canada Event Time 2012-10-28 03:04:10 UTC 2012-10-27 20:04:10 UTC-07:00 at epicenter 2012-10-28 05:04:10 UTC+02:00 system time Location 52.769°N 131.927°W depth=17.5km (10.9mi) Nearby Cities 139km (86mi)...

San Andreas Fault

The San Andreas Fault is a continental transform fault that runs a length of roughly 810 miles (1,300 km) through California in the United...

Plate Tectonics Cannot Explain Dynamics of Earth and Crust Formation More...

The current theory of continental drift provides a good model for understanding terrestrial processes through history. However, while plate tectonics is able to successfully...

When Continents Collide: New Twist to 50-Million-Year-Old Tale

Fifty million years ago, India slammed into Eurasia, a collision that gave rise to the tallest landforms on the planet, the Himalaya Mountains and...

Southern California’s tectonic plates revealed in detail

Rifting is one of the fundamental geological forces that have shaped our planet. Were it not for the stretching of continents and the oceans...

MOST POPULAR

MORE ARTICLES